In 2020, OCGA elected to better represent changes in canola acreage in Ontario, as well new growth potential for Winter Canola in southern Ontario by realigning the OCGA District Areas.

The current Ontario Canola District Areas are:

  • District 1 – Northern Ontario – North of Tobermory
  • District 2 – Central Ontario – South of Tobermory, North of Guelph, West of Pickering
  • District 3 – Eastern Ontario – East of Pickering
  • District 4 – Southern Ontario – South of Guelph

Board of Directors

  • Hubert Beaudry, President
  • Jonathon Sammons, Vice President
  • Jeff Curry, Treasurer
  • Jennifer Doelman
  • Calvin Krahn
  • Will Runnalls
  • Kurtis Schill
  • Ian Toll


  • Ryan Koeslag, Executive Director

Directors contribute to 5 Canola Board meetings annually as well as appointments to various committees and external organizations.

Appointments to the OCGA board are 3 year terms for a maximum of 3 terms.

OCGA is represented on the Canadian Canola Growers Association, Farm and Food Care, the Ontario Agricultural Commodity Council and the Ontario Grain Financial Protection Program.

District Representatives

District #1

Northern Ontario — North of Tobermory

Hubert Beaudry ***
Calvin Krahn ***
Will Runnalls ***
Matt Bowman
Timo Brielmann
Simon Cloutier
Terry Phillips

District #2

South of Tobermory, North of Guelph, West of Pickering

Jeff Curry ***
Jonathon Sammons ***
Kurtis Schill ***
Carl Brubacher
James McKinlay
Ralph Voisin
Jon Wiley

District #3

Eastern Ontario — East of Pickering

Jennifer Doelman ***
Kelsey Banks
Robert Hunter

District #4

Southern Ontario —South of Guelph

Ian Toll ***
Nathan Van Overloop
Jeremy Sculthorpe

*** denotes Director

District Representatives are appointed for 3 year terms and attend the annual District Reps meeting in January (day before OCGA Annual Meeting).

They are valued members of the OCGA team, contributing an important outreach role in each of their geographical areas.

Ontario Canola Growers Association Mandate

The Ontario Canola Growers Association strives to support Ontario canola producers through:

  • Direction of canola related research
  • Communication of canola production and research information
  • Producer education programs
  • Acting as Ontario canola growers’ voice to industry and government.
  • Encouragement of market opportunities suitable to Ontario canola production.